Re: [Epic] Those troublesome BMs

From: Dirk Vormann <>
Date: Tue, 25 Nov 1997 10:41:59 +0100 (MEZ)

> Those BMs are so confusing ! Consider the following :
> You have a detachment/war engine that has a SHW with a range of 45+ cm and
> 2 FP with a range of 30 cm. This det/unit has a single BM on it, and there
> are enemy units in range of the SHW, but not in range of the 2 FP (say, at
> 40 cm).
> I read somewhere in the list that the BMs are deducted from the weapons
> that can fire at enemies in range. This would result that the single BM
> nullifies the SHW while it doesn't affect the useless 2 FP. According to
> my interpretations of the rules I thought you could choose where to
> substract your BMs results from. In the example above, I would decrease
> the FP to 1 because I would still like to fire my SHW !
> What is the correct interpretation of the rules ? ('cause I want to use my
> Scorpions and Guardian/Support Flatforms to maximum effectiveness)

By the letters of the rules you substract BMs from the detachments
firepower which is calculated from whatever is in range..

Else you could not shut down artillery with BMs as their screen units (in
the same detachment) would soak up BMs without seeing any opponent.
(Consider Squat Goliaths with some support weapons (who have FP 2).)

Received on Thu Jan 01 1970 - 00:00:00 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.0 : Tue Oct 22 2019 - 13:10:04 UTC