[NetEpic ML] Re: More NetEpic Questions

From: Peter Ramos <pramos1_at_...>
Date: Sat, 27 Mar 1999 09:00:45 +0000


Tzeentch wrote:

> We are on a roll! Here are some more questions from Bret.
> [Chaos: Invisibility Card]
> Can it be played after the opponent announces targets, but before any to hit
> dice are rolled?
> -->Nothing prevents them from doing so under the current rules I'm afraid.
> Mark it up to the Powers of Chaos.
> And if so, are all the opponents shots considered a miss?
> -->In this case yes.
> Or, can the opponent instead elect to shoot elsewhere since that chaos unit
> is now invisible?
> -->A toughie. I would have to say no, on the basis that it COULD be
> rationalized that while they were under fire (but before it really pinned
> them down) they became invisible and moved off.

This was answered some time ago on the net, answers officially from GW. The
invisibility card is played after the opponent nominates the targets but before
the dice are rolled. Once played the designated shots by the opponent to that
unit that is now invisible ARE LOST, the opponent MAY NOT pick another target.

> [Chaos: Vortex Card]
> Is the scatter dice rolled exactly like the Vortex missle? Or is there no
> chance of scatter?
> -->I'm assuming you are referring to the Chaos Card: Magic of Tzeentch? If
> that is the case then I would have to say the card is worded a bit clumsily.
> Here is my interpretation (and how I have played it in SM).
> Effect: The unit may make an extra attack this turn, combining their
> psychic power to create a vortex of energy (notice I said psychic -minor
> fluff point). Place a vortex template anywhere within 25cm and line of sight
> of the unit. This template does not roll for scatter but otherwise exactly
> like the one produced by the vortex missile.

The vortex card works EXACTLY the same as the vortex missile ,except for its
range (limited to 25cm) and the stand doesn't need to be on first fire orders
like a titan with a vortex missile.

> [Plasma Cannon Redux]
> In reference to a previous question about whether a Reaver Titan is or is
> not allowed to mount a Plasma Cannon, I found in the weapon's description
> the following:
> <snip Blastgun description>
> This seems to indicate the larger plasma weapons (Plasma Cannon) would not
> be usable by the Reaver.
> -->It was 'discovered' that indeed Reavers could mount Plasma Cannons - but
> the fluff text was never modified (d' oh!). However, the opinion of those
> who commented seemed to agree that a Reaver that mounts a Plasma Cannon is
> under the same restrictions after firing it as a Warlord is when firing a
> Plasma Destructor. so mount a P-Cannon if you want, but you're going to be a
> sitting target ;)

Disagree, I own ALL Q&A from ALL sources, internet and WD and reavers CAN NOT
use the larger plasma weapons. That is why they made the blastgun for the
warhound and reaver to use. Tables in the SM battles book page 9 and the reaver
template in the TL codex page 23 both DO NOT include it as a legitimate
selection. I have no doubt that pictures may exist showing a reaver with such a
weapon, but that it hardly acceptable as a ruling. So whomever "discovered"
that, better cough up some references.

The Q&A Guy

eGroup home: http://www.eGroups.com/list/netepic
Free Web-based e-mail groups by eGroups.com
Received on Sat Mar 27 1999 - 09:00:45 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.0 : Tue Oct 22 2019 - 10:58:44 UTC