Re: [NetEpic ML] Veteran Co and Terminator detachment

From: Jarreas Underwood <jarreas_at_...>
Date: Sun, 19 Oct 2003 15:02:31 -0400 (GMT-04:00)

> Is it legal to field a veteran company and a terminator detachment
>in the same army? Is it moral?

Legal? Yes. Moral? Debatable. Fluffy? Depends on what you read.

The optional rule that limits taking both a terminator and a veteran company hails from the Space Marine rules, which was origionally even more stringent. Each chapter had a limited number of companies, and each company could be fielded as a company card or split up into it's component detachments and fielded as support cards. In that case you had three veteran detachments that could be fielded as a veteran company, or as three veteran support detachments, or terminators. There were no more veterans in the army, so you couldn't field any more. I felt that was a little harsh, so I tossed the 'split up the company' mechanic.

In Epic 40k (AFAIK) there are no restrictions on what you can put into a Space Marine army, nor are there any in E:A.

Personally, I say go for it. I may object to terminator and veteran companies side-by-side, but putting restrictions on what support cards may go with which company cards is too realistic to be enjoyable.

 |~ . o o . :;: () -0- o o .
 |~ ^
/~ |
         You are here. Wouldn't you rather be out there? -->
Received on Thu Jan 01 1970 - 00:00:00 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.0 : Tue Oct 22 2019 - 10:59:56 UTC