[NetEpic ML] Re: NetEpic Errata/Clarifications

From: Tzeentch <tzeentch666_at_...>
Date: Wed, 24 Mar 1999 13:07:56 -0800

[Grey Knights]

-Michele Heidal-
"aaaaannnnggg wrong you may only teleport that turn, for this is a charge
move, so no firing. "
"After that they are treated like a comand unit and move and fire the same
way, for they are trained just to fight Chaos."
-->Sorry, I don't see that in the rules. Please reference where you are
getting this from. Nothing says the Grey Knights work as command units. I
don't see any reference to teleporting counting as a charge move (though I
guess it makes sense). There is also no special rules for teleporting units
in the Movement section.
  For your edification here are the rules as printed:
Grey Knights
Grey Knights are the Marine Chapter whose sole purpose is to confront and
destroy Chaos. Unlike regular units these may not be placed on the tabletop
at the start of the game. The Grey Knights may be teleported to any location
chosen by the player on the tabletop as a detachment move in any moving
phase. Once the location to teleport to is selected roll the scatter dice
and 2D6 (as you would for an indirect barrage) to determine the exact
arrival point of the Grey Knight detachment. The remaining stands are
positioned within unit coherency of the first stand placed (6 cm). Each Grey
Knight stand receives a psychic save versus non-physical psychic attacks (4+
on D6). This unit may only be brought to a battle if the opponent is Chaos
(and no other). Grey Knights are not subject to morale tests required by
charging Greater Daemons and may fire upon Daemons normally.
[Plasma Cannon]
-Michele Heidal-
"In NetEpic the chart says you may use the plasma cannon on a Reaver. In the
old rules the Reaver could not produce the plasma energy to fire such a big
gun, it was meant for Warlords and bigger titans. The Reavers big plasma gun
was to be the blastgun."
what chart is this? I looked through both the online rules and my PDF
versions and found nothing. Are you sure this is a NetEpic 3.0 chart? And if
so where is it?
[Close-Combat & Morale:]
-Michele Heidal-
"Thats in 40k this is Epic."
Mmmmh, you seem to be confused - I'll paste the rule below. The link to the
online rules is <http://www.geocities.com/BourbonStreet/1353/nemorale.html>
Troops can only take so much before their discipline breaks and they decide
to flee the battlefield. How long a unit will remain to fight is determined
by its Break Point and Morale roll.
Once a company or Support Card reaches its Break Point (the amount of
casualties inflicted after which VP�s are awarded) it must make a break
test. A break test consists of a D6 roll that must be equal or greater to
the unit�s morale value (printed with the breaking point on the army card).
If the roll is successful the unit maintains discipline and can be given
orders normally.
If the roll is unsuccessful, the unit must Fall Back and the appropriate
counter is placed on the unit.
When a Company reaches the Break Point, each detachment in the company must
make a break test (regardless if that individual detachment is still
intact!). In the case of a Support Card, only the detachment it represents
need make the break test.
Sometimes morale checks may be required due to special circumstances (being
charged by Daemons etc.), these will be listed in the models individual
Rally Check
A unit that has failed morale will remain on Fall Back orders for the
remainder of the turn and all of the next. In the end phase of the following
turn the unit may attempt to rally. A morale roll is taken:
If successful the unit may be given orders normally in the following turn.
If failed the unit remains on Fall Back orders.
There are no special conditions for broken units being charged (which is
what the original question asked). If a broken unit is charged then what
happens depends on whether it has failed its morale check and gone on Fall
Back. It it made the check then its broken but nothing else happens. Of
course a broken unit that makes its morale check or rallies can be made to
take additional morale checks if under the influence of psyker powers or
charged by daemons.
[AA guns:]
-Michele Heidal-
"Only if you are playing alt rules to target ground troop with aa guns."
Ahh yes. As relates to ground units you are totally correct. I forgot that
was an optional rule (SM dies hard). Ruling still stands vs floaters though,
unless there is a problem I don't know about.
eGroup home: http://www.eGroups.com/list/netepic
Free Web-based e-mail groups by eGroups.com
Received on Wed Mar 24 1999 - 21:07:56 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.0 : Tue Oct 22 2019 - 10:58:44 UTC