Re: [Epic] Bad Choas Force (was: What scares me about Epic 40K)

From: Brett Hollindale <agro_at_...>
Date: Fri, 10 Jan 1997 16:20:12 GMT

At 08:40 AM 10/1/97 -0500, you wrote:
>> From: Kevin Walker <sage_at_...>
>> You were robbed, the following force is balantly illegal, even if we give
>> the opponent the benefit of the doubt. Now where to begin ...
>> > 3 Warlord Titans each with Fire Control Towers, Plasma Destructors,
>> > 2 Barrage Missiles, and a Deathstrike Cannon head. Oh, and 2
>> > Carapace multi-lasers. (Note, this group was doing Battle Groups
>> > at 3 Warlords for 1800pts. at that time)
>> According to a later description there were a total of 12 PDs, so we have 5
>> slots used on each titan when only four are available.
> The deathstrike is in the head, and carapace multi-lasers only
>occupy the banner poles. Leaving 4 slots: fire control, plasma thingy,
>and 2x barrage missiles. This would actually be legal, pre-TL (of
>course they aren't any BGs pre-TL). Actually, I'm not sure it's really
>illegal now - does it actually say in the rules that the barrage missiles
>are carapace only? Well, Chaos can't take BGs anyway, barring house rules,
>so if a particular house rule is causing problems (as above), get rid of
>> > 1 Co. Chaos Marines
>> Opps... Here we go again, I don't see a Primarch listed. Without one, its
>> illegal to take this (unless the group allows the special Choas Chapter
>> listed in one of the Journals).
> Which chapter is that? Unless you're talking about the
>Blood Slaughterers in that issue of WD?
>> When using TL, a titan battle group may
>> support up to 5 detachments (I believe)
> But none of the detachments here could be taken by a BG.
>This guy's only got Bloodletters & THawks.
>> Its possible the playing group allow the BG to
>> control the extra 3 detachments, but thats a pretty big gift, especially
>> after allowing Choas to purchase BG in the first place (not that I disagree
>> with Choas being able to purchase BG).
> Well, this army list certainly isn't even _remotely_ legal
>without some sort of special allowance on the part of his opponent.
>All you have to do is go up to him, hand him the TL rulebooks, and
>say, "Show me where it allows Chaos to take titan battlegroups" and
>*poof* there goes his 'unbeatable' army.

Actually, poof goes 1 (one) of his warlords. Everything else is pretty
right - "barrage missiles mounted on the carapace only" is an issue that
caused considerable debate only a few weeks ago and there is little doubt
that if pressed, he is within his rights (although I think he would be
wrong) to insist that missiles CAN be mounted anywhere. Two Warlord Titans
(as suport units) would cost 1800pts which is what he is paying already.

Received on Fri Jan 10 1997 - 16:20:12 UTC

This archive was generated by hypermail 2.3.0 : Tue Oct 22 2019 - 13:08:59 UTC